star-wars-the-bad-batch-episode-5-review

New episodes arrive every Friday.


Lucasfilm

Disney picked the best way to celebrate May the Fourth last month by premiering a new Star Wars series on Disney Plus. We’re now six episodes into The Bad Batch, a slick CGI-animated show from The Mandalorian producer Dave Filoni.

New episodes drop once a week on Fridays, helping to plug the gap between other big franchise shows The Falcon and the Winter Soldier and Loki, which arrived this Wednesday to rave reviews.

The Bad Batch episode release schedule

Here’s the episode release schedule for all 16 episodes of the The Bad Batch’s first season, with the release times:

  • Episode 1: Available now.
  • Episode 2: Available now.
  • Episode 3: Available now.
  • Episode 4: Available now.
  • Episode 5: Available now.
  • Episode 6: Available now.
  • Episode 7: Available now.
  • Episode 8: Available June 18 — midnight PT/3 a.m. ET/8 a.m. GMT
  • Episode 9: Available June 25 — midnight PT/3 a.m. ET/8 a.m. GMT
  • Episode 10: Available July 2 — midnight PT/3 a.m. ET/8 a.m. GMT
  • Episode 11: Available July 9 — midnight PT/3 a.m. ET/8 a.m. GMT
  • Episode 12: Available July 16 — midnight PT/3 a.m. ET/8 a.m. GMT
  • Episode 13: Available July 23 — midnight PT/3 a.m. ET/8 a.m. GMT
  • Episode 14: Available July 30 — midnight PT/3 a.m. ET/8 a.m. GMT
  • Episode 15: Available Aug. 6 — midnight PT/3 a.m. ET/8 a.m. GMT
  • Episode 16: Available Aug. 13 — midnight PT/3 a.m. ET/8 a.m. GMT

What’s The Bad Batch about?

Star Wars: The Bad Batch comes from The Mandalorian producer Dave Filoni. If that wasn’t enough to cement its credentials, it’s a spin-off of the lauded computer-animated series The Clone Wars, which you can also find on Disney Plus.

The Bad Batch, using the same CGI-animated style, is set after the events of Revenge of the Sith and charts the missions of a squad of clone troopers who debuted in the final season of The Clone Wars. These mercenaries were all cooked up with genetic mutations, and are voiced by Dee Bradley Baker, Ming-Na Wen (as a younger version of Fennec Shand, reprising the character she plays in The Mandalorian), Stephen Stanton and Andrew Kishino.

Here’s the latest promo: